SMART Prep for Spring

Winter-BluesWe’re almost there…The longest month of the year is nearly over.  Yes, I’m talking about February.  Shortest month in terms of days.  Longest in terms of perception.  We’re almost past the “winter blues,” or at least that’s what those of us here in Wisconsin are trying to convince ourselves.  After all, it’s nearly 40 degrees outside….that’s nearly spring weather, right?

It’s not that I don’t enjoy the winter.  I really do, or at least part of me really does.  I simply love it in a limited fashion.  And every year, once the American Birkebeiner has been held in Hayward, Wisconsin, an annual race in which nearly 10,000 cross country skiers compete, my limited love comes to an end.

In fact, Spring is that emotional rebirth period for me, not in a religious manner, but rather with regard to suddenly being fresh on energy and eager with possibility.  There’s just something about the dark, cold winter that saps much of that.  That this has been an unbelievably busy winter hasn’t really helped.

So, what are some of my goals for the upcoming warmer months?  Well, I tend to set my short-term goals in 2-month increments.  So, here they are….

  • Pursue more professional writing opportunities.  If you follow either of my blogs, you know I love to write.  And over the past year, I’ve been doing more professional, i.e., paid, writing.  Time to expand upon those opportunities and limit those that are not monetized (other than my blogs).
  • Focus on both specializing and diversifying my consulting repertoire.  Having identified those areas of consulting for which I have a passion, the goal is to begin focusing on those areas while widening my circle of clients and projects.
  • Recruit 10 individuals for participation in my doctoral research.  Let’s knock this thing out once and for all!
  • Enjoy travel.  Whether work-related or for pleasure, I’ve got several key trips on the horizon.  My goal is to fully embrace each of these for what they provide…relaxation, connection, family, and financial benefits.
  • Return to long-distance running form.  Skiing and hockey have been great for the past several months, but with the days getting longer and the snow soon to melt, it’s time to tie on the ol’ running shoes and hit the pavement again.

Smart GoalsWe’ll regroup at the end of April to assess my progress along these goals.  But, practicing what I preach, setting SMART (specific, measurable, attainable, relevant, and time-bound) goals is step one to progress.

So, with that said, let’s get on with getting on…..

Leave a Reply

