Positive Provocation: Do I Mean to Offend?

Was reminded today of this post from last year….It was one of my favorites to write, not because it was “in your face,” but because it was an attempt to help others understand the soul from which I work and live as a professor, a consultant, coach, or merely a writer. It reminds me of William Shedd’s famous quote, “A ship is safe in harbor, but that’s not what ships are for.”

I/O Musings of a Skeptical Positivist

“You really put yourself out there,” she chuckled.

It’s true.  I do, and quite intentionally so.  You see, it’s what I know.  It’s who I am.  It’s where I find myself most comfortable.  It’s a little thing I like to call authenticity.

I’ve been writing professionally now for over three years.  Between blog articles, ghost writing professional journal entries, working on my own publications, and just writing pieces of fiction, I find the writing process both cathartic and exceptionally liberating.  Again, it’s what I do and who I am.

I find a bit of amusement in the apprehension I sometimes glimpse in others’ eyes when they read my works.  Have I gone overboard in making a point about leadership or organizational culture?  Have I likely pissed off someone with a political comment or a politically incorrect jab?  Yes, yes, and, usually…..yes.

But you see, I don’t shy away from…

View original post 339 more words

Leave a Reply

